School Board 2019-2020

Meet the Board

School Board Member Tami Ryan

Tami Ryan

Tami Ryan, President
P: 563/580-5109

Tami grew up in Dubuque and graduated from Hempstead High School. She moved back to Dubuque in 1999. Tami has been a substitute teacher in the district for the past 10 years. She is currently an Adjunct Instructor with the University of Dubuque supervising student teachers. Tami and her husband Steve are co-owners of Wendy’s Restaurants. She continues to be involved in other community organizations.

School Board Member Jim Prochaska

Jim Prochaska

Jim Prochaska, Vice President
P: 563/556-1422

Originally from Protivin, Iowa, Jim is a retired chemistry and physics teacher from Dubuque Senior High School. He is also an adjunct professor at the University of Dubuque. Jim holds a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Loras College and a master of science degree in physics education from the University of Wisconsin, Superior. In the community, Jim is a member of the City of Dubuque Long Range Planning and Advisory Commission, is active in buildings and grounds at St. Raphael’s Cathedral in Dubuque, and is a high school football official. He and his wife Lois have three adult children, Kari, Kristin and Katie.

School Board Member Nancy Bradley

Nancy Bradley

Nancy Bradley
P: 563/556-0705

Nancy Bradley served the children, families, and community of Dubuque as a Dubuque Community School District employee for 47 years. Prior to retiring from the District on June 30, 2017, Nancy (a native Dubuquer) served as a teacher, reading specialist, elementary principal, Director of Professional Learning and School Improvement, and Director of Elementary Education. Nancy holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education and Elementary Music from the University of Wisconsin – Platteville; a Master’s Degree from the University of Minnesota in Educational Administration with an emphasis in Curriculum and Instruction; and an additional 45 credits in Educational Leadership. She has devoted her career in Dubuque to providing leadership aimed at assuring that each and every child is afforded the highest quality of education possible. Her commitment to children and quality education continues to be her focus as a member of the DCSD Board of Education. Nancy is pleased to continue to serve the students and families of Dubuque.

Barton tom

Tom Barton

Tom Barton
P: 563/513-0644

Tom Barton is a native Dubuquer. He served two terms on the board from 2001-06, and then chose to not seek re-election. He successfully ran again in 2011 and 2015, serving as board vice president, and chose to complete his service after a total of four terms. Tom is again serving on the board through the November 2021 election to temporarily fill the seat of Mike Donohue who relocated to Decorah, Iowa. Tom is the founder and president of Barton Wealth Management. He’s a past chairman of the board for the Dubuque Chamber of Commerce and is heavily involved as a Dubuque community leader. His kids Matt and Katie attended Dubuque public schools and his wife, Barb, is a fundraising professional at the Dubuque Museum of Art.

School Board Member Kate Parks

Kate Parks

Kate Parks
P: 563/663-9170

Kate Parks began her career teaching sociology to undergraduate students at Loras College in 2007. She grew up in Marshalltown, Iowa where her parents and some family members still live. She first fell in love with the city of Dubuque as a student at Loras, where she graduated with a BA in sociology, history, and German in 1998. Following graduation, Kate had the opportunity to live in Austria as a Fulbright Teaching Assistant. Upon her return, she then moved around the country living, studying, and working in Texas, Wisconsin, Missouri, and New Mexico before returning to Dubuque. She graduated with her MA (’03) and PhD (’07) in Sociology at Texas A&M University. Her teaching and research interests have focused on issues of inequality and inequity in education. Kate has been actively involved in the community, most recently as a member of the Human Rights Commission and a member of the Prescott PCO, among others. Kate and her husband, Todd, have a daughter and son, both of whom attend or will attend Dubuque Public Schools. 

School Board Member Anderson Sainci

Anderson Sainci

Anderson Sainci
P: 863/430-8802

Anderson Sainci was born and raised in Florida and moved to Dubuque in 2006. He is the Resource Management Coordinator and Supervisor for the City of Dubuque’s Public Works Department. Anderson is a graduate of the University of Dubuque where he received his bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, as well as his Master of Arts Degree in Communication. He serves on the board of directors for Every Child / Every Promise, Dubuque Black Men Coalition, Dubuque Dream Center, St. Mark Youth Enrichment, Radius Church and Steeple Square. Anderson and his wife, Kiesha, have three children.

School Board Member Lisa Wittman

Lisa Wittman

Lisa Wittman
P: 563/583-0386

Lisa Wittman grew up just south of Dubuque in Key West, attending public and parochial schools through eighth grade. She then attended Dubuque Senior High School, graduating in 1978. Lisa has worked in banking since high school and is currently a Vice President Mortgage & Consumer Loan Officer at Fidelity Bank & Trust in Dubuque. Lisa’s husband Gary is a teacher and coach in the Dubuque Community Schools. The Wittmans raised five children (Tammy, Ted, Tonya, Ty and Timothy), all graduating from Dubuque public schools. Outside of work, Lisa is director of the Dubuque Grey Ribbon Crusade 5K fundraiser. Her love for athletics and being involved keeps her busy volunteering her time.

Superintendent Stan Rheingans

Stan Rheingans

Stan Rheingans
P: 563/552-3012

As superintendent of schools, Stan serves as an ex officio member of the Board of Education. The son of two public school teachers, he assumed the superintendent position in 2012 after a variety of roles in education. Prior to that, he served as executive director of human resources for the Dubuque Community School District. Before coming to Dubuque, he was principal at Junior/Senior High School in Wilton, Iowa. He has also been an associate principal and activities director, dean of students, and high school social studies teacher. Stan holds a bachelor’s degree from Loras College, a master’s degree from the University of Iowa, and a certificate of advanced studies (superintendent’s license) from the University of Northern Iowa. He is a veteran of the United States Army and was the recipient of the Bronze Star.