Superintendent’s Cabinet

Stan Rheingans
Superintendent of Schools
srheingans@dbqschools.org

Stan Rheingans was named the Superintendent of the Dubuque Community School District in September 2012, making him the chief executive officer of the district. He served as the executive director of human resources for the district since 2004.The son of two public school teachers, Rheingans assumed the superintendent position after a variety of teaching and administrative roles in education including as a junior/senior high school principal, associate principal and activities director, and dean of students. He was a social studies teacher before moving into administration. He is also a decorated military veteran, having served as a combat engineer platoon leader in the United States Army 10th Engineer Battalion in the Federal Republic of Germany and was a training and tactical operations officer in the First Armor Division in Operation Desert Storm. He was the recipient of the Bronze Star. Rheingans holds a bachelor’s degree from Loras College, a master’s degree from the University of Iowa, and a certificate of advanced studies (superintendent’s license) from the University of Northern Iowa.

Amy Hawkins
Chief Human Resources Officer
ahawkins@dbqschools.org

As chief human resources office, Hawkins oversees all human resources operations for the over 1,800 employees in the district. This includes district-wide planning and coordination of staff recruitment, the performance evaluation system, employee relations and personnel management. Hawkins holds a bachelor’s degree from Winona State University and a master of arts degree in education from the University of Northern Iowa with Pre-K through 12 principal and Pre-K 12 special education supervisor certification.

Kevin Kelleher
Chief Financial Officer
kkelleher@dbqschools.org

Mike Cyze
Chief Communication Officer
mcyze@dbqschools.org

Coby Culbertson
Chief Technology Officer
cculbertson@dbqschools.org

Joe Maloney
Director of Activities and Athletics
jmaloney@dbqschools.org

Cindy Steffens
Executive Director of Elementary Education
csteffens@dbqschools.org

As director of elementary education, Cindy Steffens in responsible for administrative oversight of PreK-5 programming in the district’s 13 elementary schools. This work includes oversight of the district’s elementary curriculum and assessment efforts, as well as planning, coordination and supervision of a comprehensive professional learning program for staff. Prior to this role, Steffens was principal of Carver Elementary School and Irving Elementary School, was a student strategist and Title I facilitator. Before moving into leadership and administrative roles, Steffens was a Title I/Reading Recovery teacher in the district and also held Title I/Reading Recovery and grade-level teaching assignments in the Andrew Community School District.

Mark Burns
Executive Director of Secondary Education
mburns@dbqschools.org

Shirley Horstman
Executive Director of Student Services
shorstman@dbqschools.org

Brenda Duvel
Executive Director of Special Education
bduvel@dbqschools.org